How Much Does It Cost to Open a Chick-fil-A Franchise?
Verified · 2026 WI filingAs of its 2026 FDD, opening a Chick-fil-A franchise costs an estimated $317,521 to $3,463,155 in total initial investment.
| Total investment | $317,521 to $3,463,155[1] |
| Franchise fee | $10,000[1] |
| Royalty | not disclosed[1] |
| Ad fund | 3.25%[1] |
Financial Performance (Item 19)
| Average unit revenue | $9,161,239 |
| Median unit revenue | $9,087,673 |
Annual Sales Volume (gross receipts excluding sales tax) for domestic non-captive venue franchised Operator Chick-fil-A Restaurants located in non-mall environments (e.g., free-standing or drive-thru only units) open and operated by Operators for at least one full calendar year as of December 31, 2025 (2,302 restaurants). Median $9,087,673; Average $9,161,239; range $1,658,209 to $20,048,032. Separate figures also given for mall restaurants (201 units) and delivery kitchens (3 units). Figures reflect gross sales only, not net income or profit.
Outlet Counts by Filing Year (Item 20)
| FDD Year | Total Outlets | Opened | Closed | Terminated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2863 | 278 | 8 | 0 |
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost to open a Chick-fil-A franchise?
According to Chick-fil-A's 2026 FDD, the estimated total initial investment is $317,521 to $3,463,155.
What is the Chick-fil-A franchise fee?
The initial franchise fee disclosed in the 2026 FDD is $10,000.
What is the Chick-fil-A royalty fee?
The royalty percentage is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD.
Does Chick-fil-A disclose franchise owner earnings?
Yes — Chick-fil-A's 2026 FDD includes an Item 19 Financial Performance Representation. Average unit revenue was $9,161,239.
How many Chick-fil-A locations are there?
Chick-fil-A had 2,863 outlets as of its 2026 FDD.
Where does this Chick-fil-A franchise data come from?
Every figure on this page is extracted from Chick-fil-A's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, filed with WI and human-verified against the source filing.
Sources
- 2026 FDD, filed with WI — state registry record — last verified from the 2026 FDD on 2026-07-27
FranchiseFilings is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Chick-fil-A. All figures above are drawn directly from the Chick-fil-A FDD filings linked in Sources and have been human-verified against those filings. See our methodology for how we source and verify data.